The User Roles/ Toolbar function in system security allows you to change the names of the User Roles from Level 1, Level 2, Level 3 etc to something more meaningful to your Organisation (for example role specific names instead of Level numbers), and allows you to restrict access to the Toolbar functions for certain User Roles. It also allows you to determine which user roles have Read Only access to the entire system.


This solution details:


Changing the User Role names

To change the names of the User Roles, from the Home Screen, click System Maintenance, then Security and User Roles Toolbars



In the Group Name column, change the names of the User Roles from Level # to something that is meaningful to your organisation (EG. Level 1 might be Reception):



Continue down the list to change each level # to a name, for example:



Restricting access to the Toolbar functions for certain User Roles

If you do not want certain User Roles to have access to search screens from the Toolbar function, untick the boxes in the list that you do not want the User Role to have access to. For example, Reception do not have access to the Property, Tenancy, Maintenance or Tradespeople search screens from the Toolbar, but they can access Clients and Waiting List:



If a user in a User Role clicks the function in the Toolbar that they do not have access to, they will receive the following warning message:


Setting Read Only Access to Chintaro

To give read only access to options on the Toolbar for certain User Roles, tick the Read Only box for that User Role:

Read Only access means the user will not be able to add or change in data in Chintaro. They will be able to view the screens they have access to, but will not be able to change them.