How to use Word Merge Plus in Chintaro

Modified on Tue, 06 Sep 2022 at 11:20 AM

Word Merge Plus gives you many more options when creating letters in Chintaro based on templates in Microsoft Word, such as the ability to: 

  • Save individual copies of the letter created from Chintaro for each client, tenant, tradesperson, or property as individual PDF or word documents
  • Include the details of the letter in the body of the note created in Chintaro for individual and bulk word merges
  • Include a link to the directory of where the letter has been saved within the note for future reference
  • Print the letters immediately, without the need to open Word

The benefits of using Word Merge Plus include:

  • The letters created are easily found as the name of the tenant and a date and time stamp is included in the name of the saved letter
  • The ability to easily find and reprint letters as they are saved individually, along with a link to the saved document is in the note created
  • Option to select the preference of how you want the document to be saved (PDF/Word Document)

This solution details:


Setting up Word Merge Plus

To enable the additional functionality Word Merge Plus provides, you will first need to create or identify the folders on your network that you will use to save the letters that are populated from Chintaro.


You can set up a new directory, or use an existing directory if you have this set up already.


Separate directories exist for:

  • Client letters - for all letters related to clients screens, tenancy and waiting list records, manage screens (eg Manage Clients), bulk letters screens, and the arrears management screen
  • Property letters - for letters related created on the Manage property screen and the Home> Properties> Property Letters screen
  • Tradesperson letters - for letters created on the Tradesperson screen


To set up the directories, from the Home Screen >  System Maintenance> Set Up Word Merges > Preferences tab:


This opens the Word Merge Preferences screen


To use Word Merge Plus, first select Yes from the drop down in this section:


Then, select the formatting option that you would like the merged documents to be saved as. You can choose either PDF or Word Documents as the default format (Please Note: you can choose how you would like an individual file saved when you go to merge the document, this is just a preference for a default)


Next, you will need to tell Chintaro where to save the letters. If you do not already have a folder structure set up for filing your documents, you will need to add 3 folders to somewhere on your network now, called:

1. Clients

2. Properties

3. Tradespeople


Once you have added these folders, or if you have a folder structure already in place, click the ellipsis button to browse to, and select the folder where your Client letters are saved:

Then repeat the same process for telling Chintaro where your Property and Tradespeople letters are currently saved.


Options for Word Merge Plus on an individual Word Merge

When Word Merge Plus is enabled and you go to click on the Word Merge button on the Client/Tenancy/Property/Tradesperson screens, the following pop up will appear: 


When Word Merge Plus is not enabled the word merge screen displays the new options but they are greyed out:

 


The Word Merge screen shows the available templates on the left, and additional options on the right. 


The additional options include:

The 'Using Word Merge Plus in Chintaro' link opens this document

Tick this option to immediately print the letter when you click Word Merge. This option works for PDF and Word Document formats. Untick this option to complete the word merge without printing the letters. 




Tick the Create Client Note, Property Note, or Tradesperson note to add a note to the individual client, property, or tradesperson record with a copy of the letter in the body of the note.


Use the 'Save Letter as ......' option to override your default letter format from PDF to Word Document. 


There is also a third option available on this screen for 'Word Document - Open for editing' which is available when you create a single word merge. This option does not print the letter (the print tick box is ignored), rather, it will open the merged content in Microsoft Word, ready for you to customise the letter with additional information before saving or printing.

 

Click save in Word to save the letter with the changes made. Then print the document or use it as required.


When using 'Word Document - Open for editing' with the Create Note option ticked, the note body will contain the basic template. The letter link in the note will open the saved version of the document with the custom information. 


The 'save letter folder' location displays the folder where the word merge will save, which location can be changed by using the ellipsis button. Please note: the folder you wish to save to must already exist on your computer or network.



What happens after I click Word Merge?

When you're ready to create your document, click Word Merge


Depending on what options you have selected will depend on what action is taken, but if you have:

  • Print Letter - the letter will be sent straight to your default printer
  • Create Client Note - a note will be created for the letter, including the contents of the letter in the body of the note, along with a link to the saved letter that can be used to open up and view the pdf or word document:



If the note type 'Letter Sent' is available, Word Merge Plus with create notes of that type, otherwise a note of the 'General' type will be created. To add a new note type see: Adding 'Note Type's for Reporting and Tracking Information

  • Save Letter As - The merged document will be added to the Client/Property/Tradesperson folder location you specified.

Options for Word Merge Plus on a bulk Word Merge

When creating a bulk word merge all letters will be saved in the same location (EG Tenancy Letters will all be saved to the folder you specify).


When creating a single word merge, the default location will display based on the Setup Word Merge > Preferences client folder setting unless a default related link folder has been setup for that client, property or tradesperson. 


If you wish to use custom locations for individual clients, properties, or tradespersons, you can prepare these using the Related Links section of the individual record screen. To set the location as the default for word merge, tick the optional Default tickbox.

See: Client Screen - Related Links



For further assistance with setting up Word Merge Templates

For more information on setting up Word Merge templates, please have a look at these links:


Word Merge Plus Training Module

You can download our Word Merge Plus training lesson as a viewable powerpoint at the bottom of this page, or you can watch a Youtube version here:



For further information on the Word Merge Plus Screen

For further assistance with the Word Merge Plus function, please contact support@chintaro.com.au 

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article